styling men by Lexie Tiongson

 

Whew, sometimes it’s a tough one. But, recently I’ve found myself styling men more often than usual. It’s funny because when I was talking to my friend Bryon about wanting to style men more, he told me that I’d probably recommend polka dot pants! I actually wouldn’t mind seeing that on a guy, but as a starter… I styled a couple of men this past weekend and told one of them to wear a polka dot denim button-up.

One of my really good friends, Nathan introduced me to Indochino, a custom online menswear tailor. He’s really into suits and the whole “Financial District” look, obviously. So, he asked me to help him style while Indochino had their traveling tailor here in San Francisco.

I really fell in love with the variety of fabrics they had. You can basically customize the whole suit. From the lining inside to the lapels, and even the vents!

The one thing I ABSOLUTELY LOVE about menswear are the accessories. Even though they can be so basic, a printed or patterned tie can really say a lot. I fell in love with this striped knit one so much! I might buy it for myself. The Vincero Gray 3 piece suit also caught my eye. Would love to see it on a guy some day 🙂

Even though suits may seem very straightforward at times, there’s always a way to take it to the next level. With styling a lot of men and talking to them about their personal feel on suits, I’ve noticed that they forget to add color.

I can’t wait to see Nathan in his three custom made suits. I know he’ll look fly walking around in the “FiDi!”

by Lexie, the elle tee

Leave a Reply

