Style-Conscious Minneapolis Couple #1: Maconnie & Bryce

Autumn is here – and it is especially announcing itself in Minneapolis. Along with autumn comes change. And a shift in my blog posts is a fresh focus on style-conscious couples in Minneapolis-St. Paul. Might I add that they will all be stunning individuals, inside and out?

The first couple I am focusing on, Maconnie Dukuly and Bryce Lin, were a pleasure to interview. I met Bryce at a fashion event hosted at Le Meridian Chambers about two months ago. Bryce was proudly snapping photos of Maconnie as she confidently sauntered down the runway. Adrienne and I agreed that she was one of few models who looked like they were truly enjoying themselves. Maconnie and her beau came to mind quickly when I considered who to feature first!

LM: How would you describe your personal style?

MD: I go for comfort number one. I have to be comfortable in whatever it is I’m wearing. I also like a little bit of an edge to some of my style. I don’t want it to be so standard. Probably just a little bit of femininity, too because I’m definitely girly and fun.

BL: My personal style… I would say monochromatic minimalism. I wear a lot of black, grey, and white…

M: Such a nerd (laughing).

BL: (Laughing) Totally. Total nerd. But I also like enough detailing on it to have… enough, like she said, edge, so to avoid looking like a German nihilist from the 90’s.

LM: What impacts your style choices?

MD: I would say I like to stay on the trendy style. I’m in the modeling business, so I like to see and check out different styles that are coming out. I like to incorporate that into what I’m wearing a lot of times. Don’t get me wrong, I still love my vintage, as well. I love vintage.

BL: I would say my mood mostly. Some days you want to just wear t-shirt and jeans, just be comfortable. Other times, you want to dress up a little bit more, you want to add a little bit more flair to your outfit, just cause you feel like it that day. Mood is my number one factor.

LM: How does your identity relate to your style choices?

M: I would have to say the fact that I’m African, I’m Liberian, and a lot of times I rock my head wraps and I wrap my hair a lot because I do have natural hair, so that definitely impacts what I wear on a daily basis, yeah.

I have to say, Maconnie and other women with natural, curly hair especially, look stunning in ArielSimone headbands! Browse your options here, ladies!

BL: My profession is very laid back. It’s very laissez-faire, where I can work when I want to. I don’t have a dress code. I can wear what I want. I don’t tend to dress up for any particular event. I wear the same thing for night or daytime. This I would wear to work, maybe I wouldn’t button it all the way up. I tend to wear what I want when I want. My lifestyle and my profession afford that.

LM: How has dating your partner impacted your style choices?

MD: (Laughing). That’s a good one. It definitely has a major impact on what I like to wear. I’ve actually cut out color. He wears a lot of greys, and blacks, and whites. It actually ties into my lifestyle, too, because I’m going to cosmetology school and I wear a lot of black, but I really don’t see myself wearing any color ever since I’ve been hanging out with him.

BL: Once in awhile, not too often though.

MD: I try, but usually it’s my lips.

BL:  And with me, she encourages me to experiment – not necessarily pushing it. But when I’m thinking about trying something new it’s nice to have someone to bounce an idea off of and she’ll offer me an honest critique and, you know, not bullshit a response.

BL: You look good in everything honey (laughs).

LM: What is your favorite thing about the way that Bryce chooses to style himself?

MD: My favorite thing? That’s hard! I like a lot of things. I do like the fact that he’s more professional, casual most of the time. I like that we don’t always have to feel like we have to dress a certain way, we can just dress how we want regardless.

BL: I like that she’s never afraid to take an experiment. To have that edgy side of her.

MD: To step out of my boundaries?

BL: Yeah, to step out of your boundaries. She’s not worried about fitting in; she’s not worried about how people perceive her. She’s willing to try something new, just to try something new. And she’s not worried about how she comes across to anyone else except for her and me.

LM: What’s the favorite compliment that you’ve received together?

BL AND MD: (Both laughing)

BL: The most ridiculous one, we’ve gotten several times. It sounds narcissistic…

MD: You don’t have to put this in there!

BL: We’ve gotten this half a dozen times: that “you’d have beautiful babies together.”

MD: We’re still dating, we’re still dating.

BL: That’s the major – that’s the top one.

BL and MD: (Laughing).

While interviewing, it was beautiful to witness the playful energy between Maconnie and Bryce. Each truly listened to what one another was saying and frequently smiled, laughed, and nodded in agreement. The cutest fall couple of Minneapolis award goes to Maconnie and Bryce, so far. I can’t wait share our next interview soon!

Until soon,

Lauren Miller

One thought on “Style-Conscious Minneapolis Couple #1: Maconnie & Bryce

Leave a Reply

