NASA– Here we Come by Lucie Jane

I have amazing news! This semester my studio class and I will be working in collaboration with NASA engineers and designers to create prototypes of garments for astronauts to use on the Mars mission!  I cannot wait!

My team, which consists of two of my classmates and myself, will be focusing on the flight suit that the astronauts wear while inside the space station or shuttle craft.  We will be studying electronic textiles and other intelligent design principles to create a successful prototype.

This project will last the entire semester with designing, testing and working on a final prototype.  In April, we are being flown down to NASA headquarters in Houston, TX to present our designs.

This is such a huge opportunity and I cannot wait to jump into the design process!

Check out my blog for more about this project and updates later on!

xo, Lucie Jane

Leave a Reply

