Some Days I am a Teacher

Last Thursday we spent the day holding classes at Dunwoody for a high school Career Informational. There were High School kids of all grades and from all around Minnesota that took over Dunwoody for the day to learn about hundreds of different jobs/ careers. Each student got to sign up for 6 different jobs that they were interested in and instead of being taught by teachers, professionals from each field were brought in. I was lucky enough to be one of the professionals teaching about Fashion Design.

{Source}

There are obviously many aspects to being a clothing designer, but I never imagined that I would one day get comfortable in front of a classroom.

I don’t remember how it all started, but about a year and a half ago, I started teaching at schools around the metro area. I’m not sure how people heard of me, or if maybe they’d just seen me in a few press spots, but I started getting calls and emails to teach on fashion.

I’ve taught at over 6 different schools in the area, including my own, Wayzata High School (Go Trojans!!). My teaching engagements have been both curriculum based and informational for students trying to decide their careers.

It’s been a very rewarding experience overall. At first I started doing it as a way to give back, but now I feel like I’m gaining the motivation and inspiration that I had when I was their age, because it wasn’t long after that, that I started ArielSimone. It’s also been a ripe time to grab prom clients, since prom plans start for females shortly after Christmas break is over!

A few days ago, I got another email from Patrick Henry High, so it looks like that’s where I’ll be teaching next on Feb 24th!

by Adrienne Yancy

Leave a Reply

