Spotlight: LA-based Choreographer & Dancer

We honestly can’t say that we’ve met too many people who have  danced for Rihanna, been in a Beyonce video or appeared on the hit television show Glee. But we do want to introduce you to a woman who has! Equally beautiful as she is talented, we have a spot light feature on LA based Choreographer and dancer: Shara Smallwood.
AS: Tell us about yourself….

SS: My name is Shara Smallwood… born and raised in Minneapolis, Minnesota and now calling Los Angeles my home away from home. I moved here to pursue a professional dance career in choreography, performance, and creative directing.  I have been dancing and entertaining every sense I could walk!

AS: Did you study dance?

SS: Yes. I have trained formally at the Summit Dance Shoppe of Plymouth Minnesota, Zenon Dance Company of Minneapolis, and the University of Minnesota collegiate dance program. Now, my training is professional dance companies such as Lula Washington Dance Theater, the Edge Performing Arts, and Debbie Reynolds.

AS: What do you do when you are not dancing?

SS: When I’m not performing or choreographing, I love to spend time with my family and friends. They keep me grounded. I also love to relax at the beach, take yoga regularly, travel, and hit the red box. I am known to be a movie hoarder.

AS: How do you know Adrienne?

SS: I met Adrienne in highschool!

AS: What are some of the things you are currently working on?

SS: I have currently just finished working on Glee, as a dancer as well as choreographing the “Just dance” Hip-Hop production in West Hollywood. I am currently working on choreographing the show “The Groove of James Brown,”a new dance project focusing on African American music. I have recently landed a spot at “In-Shape Personal Fitness”, a personal training facility, as a dance fitness trainer. Classes include hip-hop aerobics and salsa training.

AS: What keeps you motivated?

SS: I stay motivated by prayer, my family, and friends. And of course… from myself!

AS: Any wise words of wisdom for aspiring artists out there?

SS: To all of the inspiring artists out there– it sounds cliché, but do not give up on your goals and aspirations. Good things come to those who play hard, pray, and have the passion. Continue to keep yourself self-motivated while working on your craft, and never be afraid to work towards the life of your dreams.

If you are in LA or just want to check out Shara’s classes and updates, she’s on Facebook. She also has some incredible footage of past performances and current projects on her Vimeo.

One thought on “Spotlight: LA-based Choreographer & Dancer

  1. Pingback: A Shara Smallwood Update! | arielsimone

Leave a Reply

