ArielSimone Spotlight Series 5: Wayetu Moore, Author

PLEASE TELL US A BIT ABOUT YOURSELF. I’m an artist/entrepreneur who recently began a publishing company that produces books for children of countries with low literacy rates. My company is called One Moore Book.  I also recently finished a magical realism epic based in colonial era Liberia. The novel follows the love story of an indigenous Vai witch and king during the small West-African country’s influx of African-American settlers and Caribbeans in the mid-nineteenth century. I grew up admiring fantasy and magical realism writers and it has always been a dream of mine to give ‘impossible’ a brown face.

DID YOU STUDY YOUR PARTICULAR FIELD FORMALLY? WHERE? I studied creative writing in grad school.  I attended the University of Southern California.

HOW DID YOU AND ADRIENNE FIRST MEET?  I met Adrienne at Howard University, where I finished my undergraduate degree.

DESCRIBE YOURSELF IN 5 WORDS. What artist really knows herself?

HOW DO YOU STAY MOTIVATED? This world has so far to go to reach its potential.  I consider how much needs to be done to provide equal education and access to art to all children and that keeps me motivated.

WHAT IS SOMETHING THAT YOU ALWAYS CARRY WITH YOU? Confidence.

IF YOU COULD PEEK INTO THE STUDIO OF ANY ARTIST DEAD OR ALIVE, WHOSE STUDIO WOULD YOU CHOOSE AND WHY? Jean-Michel Basquiat. His ingenuity inspires me.

WHAT ARE YOU CURRENTLY READING? Freedom by Jonathan Franzen

WHAT IS THE HARDEST PART ABOUT YOUR WORK? I find myself wishing I had more time to commit to various projects that I am still meditating on and waiting to execute.  I am an idea person so having to wait to launch a project when it excites me can be difficult.  I wish I had more time.

WHAT DO YOU LOVE MOST ABOUT YOUR WORK? I love feeling like I’m making a difference to the lives of children.  Seeing pictures of children reading our books across the world makes me cry on the spot.

LASTLY, DO YOU HAVE ANY ADVICE FOR ASPIRING ARTISTS? Follow your instincts. They are the breath of your art.

 

{Photo credit: One More Book}

One thought on “ArielSimone Spotlight Series 5: Wayetu Moore, Author

  1. Pingback: An Interview « {better} Days are Ahead

Leave a Reply

