ArielSimone Spotlight Series 4: Jamie Arlin, Invitations & Web Designer

PLEASE TELL US A BIT ABOUT YOURSELF. I currently live in Chicago, and have enjoyed taking advantage of what the city has to offer. I have been involved in art in some capacity all of my life. I enjoy creating everything from art, to design, to even baking.

DID YOU STUDY YOUR PARTICULAR FIELD FORMALLY? WHERE? I studied everything from fine art to graphic design. I went to school at The Art Institute in Chicago for fine art training, and graduated from Bradley University with a degree in Graphic Design.

HOW DID YOU AND ADRIENNE MEET? I met Adrienne on a family vacation; she is a friend of my husband’s cousins. The minute she said she was a designer we hit it off as it is rare to find someone else who loves creating as much as I do!

HOW DO YOU STAY MOTIVATED? I stay motivated by connecting with others. Having my own business means that I work mostly from home, so it is important that I am reaching out to not only network but also to stay motivated. I started a networking group, Mixins Chicago, to create a community for like-minded businesswomen in Chicago. This has been a great way to stay connected on many levels and check out new places in the city.

WHAT ARE YOU READING CURRENTLY? I just read A Sweet Life In Paris, and it was fabulous. I also love learning about different cultures, specifically cuisines of other countries.

WHERE DO YOU SEE YOURSELF IN TEN YEARS? Right now I am concentrating on getting more involved in corporate projects such as website design and marketing materials. In the next few years I will be growing that side of my business, while still keeping wedding invitations as section of Jamie Lynn Designs.

LASTLY, ANY WORDS OF ADVICE FOR ASPIRING DESIGNERS/ARTISTS? My advice is to keep true to what makes you happy and to enjoy the process. There are lots of hurdles to jump over, but keeping your vision of what your goals are will get you to where you are meant to be.

{Jamie Lynn Designs}

Leave a Reply

